The Gilded Ones

by Namina Forna

10.80

3 in stock

ISBN:9781474959575

Genre:Children's Books / Young Adult

Format:paperback

Description

The start of a bold and immersive West African-inspired, feminist fantasy series for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther.We all have a choice. Are we girls, or are we demons?Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman’s worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it. But when Deka bleeds gold – the colour of impurity, of a demon – she faces a consequence worse than death.She is saved by a mysterious woman who tells Deka of her true nature: she is an Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. The stranger offers her a choice: fight for the Emperor, with others just like her, or be destroyed…

Additional information

Weight 0.4 kg
Dimensions 20 × 13 × 5 cm