The Book of Lost Names

by Kristin Harmel

10.50

2 in stock

ISBN:9781787396050

Genre:Fiction / Popular Fiction

Format:Paperback

Description

Perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Librarian of Auschwitz and The Book Thief, this is an astonishing story of bravery, resilience and hope from an internationally bestselling author.Throughout the 1940s, forgers helped thousands of children escape Nazi France. In this instant New York Times bestseller, Kristin Harmel reimagines their story…In 1942, Eva is forced to flee Paris after the arrest of her father, a Polish Jew. Finding refuge in a small mountain town, she begins forging identity documents for Jewish children escaping to neutral Switzerland. But erasing people comes with a price, and along with a mysterious, handsome forger named Remy, Eva realises she must find a way to preserve the real names of the children who are too young to remember their own identities.When Remy disappears and the resistance cell they work for is betrayed, the records they keep in The Book of Lost Names become even more crucial to remembering the truth…A present day discovery of the book leaves researchers fascinated by its origins and desperate to decipher its codes. Only Eva holds the answer but will she have the strength to face old memories and help reunite those lost during the war?

Additional information

Weight 0.4 kg
Dimensions 20 × 13 × 5 cm